Which people should be quarantined upon arrival in Spain?

Quarantine for travelers from risk countries.

The BOE of March 3 included an Order from the Ministry of Health through which the quarantine conditions to which people from countries at risk must be subjected during this situation of health crisis caused by COVID-19 are established.

In this way, people from:

  • Brazil,
  • South Africa,
  • Botswana,
  • Union of Comoros,
  • Ghana,
  • Kenya,
  • Mozambique,
  • Tanzania,
  • Zambia,
  • Zimbabwe,
  • Peru and,
  • Colombia.

This ten-day quarantine can end sooner if, on the seventh day, the person tests negative in one of the accepted diagnostic tests.

While they are in quarantine, people can only leave their home or accommodation to purchase food, pharmaceuticals and basic necessities, to attend health centers, services and establishments or due to force majeure or a situation of need. Health authorities may contact people in quarantine to monitor them, as well as State security forces and bodies may carry out appropriate checks on their compliance.

This Order also establishes the obligation of travel agencies, tourism operators and transport companies to inform travelers of these measures at the beginning of the process of selling tickets to Spanish territory.

📌 This Order will take effect from 00.00 hours on March 8, 2021.